The Gauntt House, circa
1808, was moved to our museum complex
area in 1972 from its original location
on College Street, across from the Post
Office. It was given to the
Newberry County Historical Society in
1970 by the Roy Dominick family with the
stipulation that it would be moved from
its original site. It was restored
by the Historical Society in 1975.
Judging from construction techniques and
materials, we believe that the house
was built by Jacob Gauntt around
1808-1810. However there are some,
including Gauntt descendants, who
believe that the house may have been
built somewhat earlier, even before the
Jacob Gauntt’s father,
Israel, came to Newberry around 1765 and
settled on 350 acres of land.
Being a loyal Quaker, he did not fight
in the American Revolution, but did
furnish supplies to the patriots.
One of “Bloody Bill” Cunningham’s Tory
gang, named Hubbs, with two cohorts set
out to rob Israel. Hubbs tricked
Israel’s wife, Hanna to gain entry into
the house. When he pointed his pistol at
Israel, the old man’s daughter also
named Hanna, threw up the weapon and
wrestled Hubbs to the floor where she
held him until Israel disabled him with
blows to the head. Some believe
that this is the same house where that
incident took place.
The Gauntt House is a
small 18th-19th century vernacular style
dwelling that is two stories high, with
a large double shouldered Williamsburg
type chimney at one end. There is
a unique doorway leading directly from
the front porch to the stairs leading to
the second floor. The second floor
is a single long room with a fireplace
at one end. There is interior
wainscoting around the two rooms
downstairs. Later additions were
removed before the house was moved to
its present location. The house is
furnished with interesting furnishings
from period to somewhat later vintage.
The Gauntt House is
located at 1503 Nance Street, behind the
Public Safety Complex.
is located off Cornelia Street.